Ukraine: A War Crime

by Ninety-three Photojournalists

$ 80.00 BUY

Publishers Copyright © 2023 FotoEvidence All rights reserved. Concept and Artistic director: Svetlana Bachevanova Photo editor: Sarah Leen Assistant Photo Editor: Irynka Hromotska Book design: Fernanda Fajardo Consulting design: Dmytro Yarynych Cover design: Joao Linneu Introduction: Volodymyr Demchenko Obituary for Maks Levin © Stas Kozlyuk English text editor: David Stuart Ukrainian translation: Svitlana Stellar and Vasyl Ivashkiv Ukrainian text editor: Christina Pikhmanets First edition ISBN: 979-8-9865952-2-1 Printed at Ofset Yapimevi in April 2023.

Ukraine: A War Crime is recognized with the Photography Book of the Year by POY.

Ukraine: A War Crime by 93 photojournalists is shortlisted for the 2023 Arles Historical Book Award.

Ukraine: A War Crime is recognized with the IPA Book Award.

Ukraine: A War Crime received a silver medal in the Anthem Award Human & Civil Rights Book, Story or Feature, Awareness & Media Categories


The 2023 FotoEvidence Book Award is dedicated to the impact of the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

The book Ukraine: A War Crime is a collection of over 360 photographs and witness accounts by ninety photojournalists from 29 countries united to present their firsthand testimony about the Russian invasion of Ukraine from the perspective of those tasked with documenting it. The images and reportages contributed by these photojournalists covering the conflict, the humanitarian catastrophe, and war crimes investigations, reveal not only the indiscriminate violence of the Russian assault and the displacement of millions of people but also their first-hand experience as photojournalists at work in a war zone. Produced and published by FotoEvidence, the book collects visual evidence of the violence and war crimes committed on Ukrainian soil.

As such, it will serve as a powerful tool for mobilization, legal prosecution, and as an historical document for future generations. The book Ukraine: A War Crimes delves deep beneath the news to tell intimate stories of survivors and witnesses to atrocities, as these photojournalists were often among the first people into liberated villages. In addition to providing intimate stories of what many Ukrainians endured, the book includes images on all aspects of the war from across Ukraine to draw a sweeping account of the destruction, the civilian toll of the war and the crimes committed on Ukrainian soil. The book is 540 pages with 366 color and black and white photographs and 38 personal essays from photographers, size: 20x32cm, bi-lingual in Ukrainian and English. Printed in April 2023, and officially launched in September 2023.




The production of Ukraine: A War Crime is supported by the Open Society Foundations Western Balkans.

Photographs and personal essays copyright © Celestino Arce, Juan Arredondo, Oscar B. Castillo, Aggelos Barai, Jerome Barbosa, Daniel Berehulak, Vince Bevan, Cristopher Rogel Blanquet, Laura Boushnak, Eric Bouvet, Maryna Brodovska, Paula Bronstein, Fabio Bucciarelli, Daniel Carde, Rui Caria, Juan Carlos, Dmytro Chaika, Narciso Contreras, Maxim Dondyuk,  Stephen Dupont,Yurko Dyachyshyn , Timothy Fadek, Diego Fedele, Javier Fergo, Oleksii Furman, Gaelle Girbes, Bogdan Gulyay, Amnon Gutman, David Guttenfelder, Carol Guzy, Ron Haviv, Brendan Hoffman, Scott Hopkins, Serhii Hudak , J. Daniel Hud, Svet Jacqueline, Patryk Jaracz, Edward Kaprov, Liam Kennedy, Pete Kiehart, Ziv Koren, Dima Kornilov, Serhii Korovayny, Dmytro Kozatskyi, Dmytro Kupriyan, Antoni Lallican, Maks Levin, Heidi Levine, Andoni Lubaki, Darrin Zammit Lupi, André Luís Alves, Evgeniy Maloletka, Sasha Maslov, Chris McGrath, Gabriele Micalizzi, Justyna Mielnikiewicz, Ioana Moldovan, Jonathan Moore, Olena Morozova, Katerina Moskalyuk, Christopher Nunn, Christopher Occhicone, Finbarr O'Reilly, Cheney Orr, Mykhaylo Palinchak, Oksana Parafeniuk, Marion Péhée, Hector Quintanar, Nikos Pilos, Giulio Piscitelli, Serghii Poznanski, Diego Radamés, Espen Rasmussen, Vyacheslav Ratynsky, Warren Richardson, J.B. Russell, Rui Duarte Silva, Diego Ibarra Sanchez, Wolfgang Shwan, Byron Smith, Alina Smutko, Maranie Staab, John Stanmeyer, Matej Sulc, Adrienne Surprenant, Joseph Sywenkyj, Nicole Tung, Eddy van Wessel, Laetitia Vancon, Tainui Kewish Wihongi, Rafael Yaghobzadeh, Stas Yurchenko.


Limitless Africans
Mickael Owunna
-Winner of the 2019 FotoEvidence Book Award with WPP
Winner of
2022 W Award
The Eyes of Earth
Solmaz Daryani
Winner of
2018 FotoEvidence Book Award