2023 Winner

Ukraine: A War Crime 2014-2024

Multiple Photographers

Book Award Years

The 2023 FotoEvidence Book Award Is dedicated to the impact of the Russian invasion of Ukraine and war crimes committed on Ukrainian soil. During the application process, from September to December 2022 FotoEvidence received around 5000 images from more than one hundred photojournalists from 35 countries united to tell their firsthand testimony about the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Often images came with a text written by the photographer about their experience. Like Nicole Tung who wrote: "From the end of February 2022 to October, we have witnessed the occupation of large swaths of a sovereign nation by an outside power, with the singular aim of erasing the Ukrainian nation and identity. We have also witnessed the recapture of some of these territories, all within a span of nine months, and the scale of atrocities is only becoming clear as temporary joy over regaining freedom gives way to calculating the costs, and the sacrifices made. In these images are the testimonies of the living and the dead, who speak in equal terms of all that has been endured.”

With photographer's images and text FotoEvidence has created a book as a testament of the atrocity of war, Russia’s indiscriminate violence and the strength of Ukrainian identity.

The bi-lingual book, in Ukrainian and English, has been published in June 2023.

Photographers contributing to the book:

Celestino Arce, Juan Arredondo, Oscar B. Castillo, Aggelos Barai, Jerome Barbosa, Daniel Berehulak, Cristopher Rogel Blanquet, Laura Boushnak, Eric Bouvet, Maryna Brodovska, Paula Bronstein, Fabio Bucciarelli, Daniel Carde, Rui Caria, Juan Carlos, Dmytro Chaika, Narciso Contreras, Maxim Dondyuk, Stephen Dupont,Yurko Dyachyshyn , Timothy Fadek, Diego Fedele, Javier Fergo, Oleksii Furman, Gaelle Girbes, Bogdan Gulyay, Amnon Gutman, David Guttenfelder, Carol Guzy, Ron Haviv, Brendan Hoffman, Scott Hopkins, Serhii Hudak , J. Daniel Hud, Svet Jacqueline, Patryk Jaracz, Edward Kaprov, Liam Kennedy, Pete Kiehart, Ziv Koren, Dima Kornilov, Serhii Korovayny, Dmytro Kozatskyi, Dmytro Kupriyan, Antoni Lallican, Maks Levin, Heidi Levine, Andoni Lubaki, Darrin Zammit Lupi, André Luís Alves, Evgeniy Maloletka, Sasha Maslov, Chris McGrath, Gabriele Micalizzi, Justyna Mielnikiewicz, Ioana Moldovan, Jonathan Moore, Olena Morozova, Katerina Moskalyuk, Christopher Nunn, Christopher Occhicone, Finbarr O'Reilly, Cheney Orr, Mykhaylo Palinchak, Oksana Parafeniuk, Marion Péhée, Hector Quintanar, Nikos Pilos, Giulio Piscitelli, Serghii Poznanski, Diego Radamés, Espen Rasmussen, Vyacheslav Ratynsky, Warren Richardson, J.B. Russell, Rui Duarte Silva, Diego Ibarra Sanchez, Wolfgang Shwan, Byron Smith, Alina Smutko, Maranie Staab, John Stanmeyer, Matej Sulc, Adrienne Surprenant, Joseph Sywenkyj, Nicole Tung, Eddy van Wessel, Laetitia Vancon, Tainui Kewish Wihongi, Rafael Yaghobzadeh, Stas Yurchenko.


Limitless Africans
Mickael Owunna
-Winner of the 2019 FotoEvidence Book Award with WPP
Winner of
2022 W Award
The Eyes of Earth
Solmaz Daryani
Winner of
2018 FotoEvidence Book Award